About our Subscription Fee
Acorns operates on an affordable, straightforward subscription billing model that you agreed to during your registration process. We do this so that you know exactly what you will be billed, when you will be billed, and for how much. In comparison with other financial institutions/services that have various fee structures, we believe the subscription billing model to be the most transparent for our customers without any alternative fees associated with your Acorns account.
If you’d like to review our pricing information, simply visit http://www.acorns.com/pricing or visit the “My Subscription” settings on your Acorns account. We currently offer three subscription tiers: Personal ($3/Month), Personal Plus ($5/Month), and Premium ($9/Month).
Like any other subscription services (i.e. Netflix, Hulu, etc.) it is ultimately up to the user to utilize and manage their account as they see fit to do so. Because our customers have full autonomy to manage their accounts, Acorns will not issue subscription fee refunds for the following reasons:
- "I opted into one of the premium tiers during the registration process" - During the registration process, you have the ability to select a subscription tier that gives you the ability to access the financial products in that tier. If you decide that you no longer want to utilize the products in a certain tier, it is up to you to downgrade your tier within the “My Subscription” settings of your account before your next billing date. If you get billed before you downgrade your tier, a refund cannot be issued.
- "I upgraded to another subscription tier" - When you upgrade your subscription tier within the Acorns platform, it will change the amount that you are billed in that new tier, and gives you access to the products in that tier. If you ultimately decide that you no longer want to utilize the products in the tier that you upgraded to, it is up to you to downgrade your tier within the “My Subscription” settings of your account before your next billing date. If you get billed before you downgrade your tier, a refund cannot be issued.
- "I initiated a withdrawal but didn't cancel my subscription" - Because we run on a subscription billing model, it is up to our customers to use their account and funds as they would like. Our customers have various uses for Acorns, so Acorns will not assume that because a withdrawal is initiated, that a customer intends to close their account. If a customer would like to close their account, they can initiate the closure through the “My Subscription” settings which will walk you through liquidating all accounts and sending the funds back to your linked primary checking account and help facilitate the closure process for you. If you initiate a withdrawal with the goal of closing the account, but do not close the account yourself or contact us to help you facilitate the closure and you get billed, a refund cannot be issued.
- "I opened an Acorns account, linked my primary checking account, decided not to use the platform, and just deleted the app" - Acorns operates on a subscription billing model and it is up to the customers to use their account as they see fit. If you open an account, Acorns will nurture you along the way to financial wellness, however if there is no activity in your account, we will not assume that means you want to close your account. If you want the account closed, it is up to you to take that action within the “My Subscription” settings of your Acorns account. If you do not take action to close your account after deciding not to use the Acorns platform, a refund cannot be issued.
Article is closed for comments.